Meet Holger Knaack, of the Rotary Club of Herzogtum Lauenburg-Mölln, Germany, who will become the President of Rotary International on July 1st, 2020.

Knaack is the CEO of Knaack KG, a real estate company. He was previously a partner and general manager of Knaack Enterprises, a 125-year-old family business.


He is a founding member of the Civic Foundation of the City of Ratzeburg and served as president of the Golf-Club Gut Grambek. Knaack is also the founder and chair of the Karl Adam Foundation.


Knaack and his wife, Susanne, are Major Donors to The Rotary Foundation and members of the Bequest Society.


To build a stronger membership, Knaack says Rotary must focus on increasing the number of female members and transitioning Rotaractors into Rotarians.


The members of the Nominating Committee for the 2020-21 President of Rotary International were

- Kazuhiko Ozawa, Rotary Club of Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan;

- Manoj D. Desai, Rotary Club of Baroda Metro, Gujarat, India;

- Shekhar Mehta, Rotary Club of Calcutta-Mahanagar, West Bengal, India;

- John G. Thorne, Rotary Club of North Hobart, Tasmania, Australia;

- Guiller E. Tumangan, Rotary Club of Makati West, Makati City, Philippines;

- Juin Park, Rotary Club of Suncheon, Jeonranam, Korea;

- Elio Cerini, Rotary Club of Milano Duomo, Italy;

- Gideon M. Peiper, Rotary Club of Ramat Hasharon, Israel;

- Per Høyen, Rotary Club of Aarup, Denmark;

- Paul Knijff, Rotary Club of Weesp (Vechtstreek-Noord), Netherlands;

- Sam Okudzeto, Rotary Club of Accra, Ghana;

- José Ubiracy Silva, Rotary Club of Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil;

- Bradford R. Howard, Rotary Club of Oakland Uptown, California, USA;

- Michael D. McCullough, Rotary Club of Trenton, Michigan, USA;

- Karen K. Wentz, Rotary Club of Maryville, Tennessee, USA;

- Michael K. McGovern, Rotary Club of South Portland-Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA; and

- John C. Smarge, Rotary Club of Naples, Florida, USA.